Friday, 9 May 2014

The Memory Book by Rowan Coleman

The Memory Book

From Goodreads

The name of your first-born. The face of your lover. Your age. Your address...

What would happen if your memory of these began to fade?

Is it possible to rebuild your life? Raise a family? Fall in love again?

When Claire starts to write her Memory Book, she already knows that this scrapbook of mementoes will soon be all her daughters and husband have of her. But how can she hold on to the past when her future is slipping through her fingers...?


Original, heartwarming and uplifting, The Memory Book is perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes.


My thoughts

This is my favourite book by this Author. I've read quite a few of Rowan Coleman's books and her writing seems to have developed for the better from the other books of hers that I've read. Dare I say that I found the others very light chick lit style books but this one is so much more.

At the heart of this book is Claire a Mum of two in her early 40's. Claire has a problem that her genes have dealt her and the story tells us of how she and her loved ones learn to cope as best they can with what life is throwing at them. With a great cast of characters comprising of her daughters Caitlin and Esther, her younger husband Greg and her Mother Ruth. This tory will have you hooked from the start.

Well written and a thought provoking book. How would we come to terms with the diagnosis of early onset Alzheimers? I for one don't know how I would cope but I felt that the subject was handled well.

The Memory Book is destined to stay with the reader for some time and I'm going to be on the look out for a keeper copy as mine was a galley read.

Thanks to NetGalley and the Publishers for the opportunity to read this story in exchange for an honest review. Thanks also to Rowan Coleman for writing this story.

I read the last few pages with tears in my eyes and found it an emotional read. This is set to be in my Top 10 of the year.  A very well deserved 10/10.

2 comments:

  1. Since reading Still Alice I find I am fascinated by reading these types of stories. Great review Bernie, will pop this on my wishlist.

    Lainy http://www.alwaysreading.net

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thanks Lainy. I've got Still Alice on my TBR. I'll look forward to that one in due course.

    ReplyDelete